Coffee Count: the final tally

Phew.

It’s just after 6 on a Friday and I have finally finished Stieg Larsson’s third book, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. It is, like the previous two books in Larsson’s trilogy, a ponderous tome, weighing in at 599 pages (601 counting the notes at the end explaining the vagaries of Swedish political history) and probably about a kilogram of twisted, violent fun.

I don’t normally devour 600-page books in a week, but time was of the essence here, as I have this one on loan from a colleague who in turn got it on the fly from a friend who nabbed it from a bookstore in Britain — Hornet’s Nest is not yet available here in Canada. (neener, neener!)

Anyway, without further ado, I will now reveal the final Coffee Count for this volume. Those of you who wish exact page references may email me, and I will direct you to your closest mental health facility.

Total number of pages: 599

Number of mentions of coffee: 78

Most number of mentions per page: 2

Fewest: 0

Longest interval between mentions: 48 (pages 506 – 554, Quercus edition)

Shortest interval: one sentence

This concludes this edition of the Stieg Larsson Coffee Count. I am going to go rinse my eyeballs and make some supper (and perhaps put on some coffee — Dr Smiter is annoyingly suggestible) and hope that one of my Loyal Readers emails me with the Coffee Counts from Larsson’s previous two works.

Because otherwise, as you know, I will have to do it myself.

And you will have to read about it.

Bon soir for now,

Dr Smiter

35, 36, 37...

1 Comment

  1. Ann

    Ooh! Ooh! Teacher! I know a lot about Swedish political history, having just finished reading “The Thirty Years War”, in which King Gustavus Adolphus played a very big part!
    Spoiler alert – he dies in the end 😦

Leave a Reply

