“Dragon Tattoo”: the Coffee Count is in

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again now: I have the greatest friends. This time my friend Tamara is on the Hero’s Podium, as she has just finished reading Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (the first in the trilogy) and has provided me with… wait for it… the official Coffee Count!

Partly she did this because was trying to cheer me up after last week’s Festival of Bedbugs (followed closely by the Festival of Fumigation, aka. Napalm 2010). And partly she did it because she is just an all-round Good Egg.

So, without further ado, here it is, the official Coffee Count for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo:

Total number of pages: 644

Number of times coffee is mentioned or referred to: 90

Wow. Really – ninety! That’s about once every seven pages. This seriously eclipses the Coffee Count in The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, (third in the series) and reassures me that I was not imagining things when I said to myself, partway through Dragon Tattoo, “My stars, but this guy mentions coffee quite a lot.”

Now, if anyone out there has an official Coffee Count for the second book, The Girl Who Played with Fire, please do send it along.

The Hero’s Podium awaits you.

Yeah, we could probably serve coffee in this.

Leave a Reply

