The Big Gulp: Boyd’s Second Supper

Well, it looks as if our Baby Boy is well and truly settled in and (so far) on a regular eating schedule.

Did someone say “Dinner is served”?

This past Tuesday (traditionally, feeding day at the breeder who raised him) I offered Boyd another meal (a fuzzy [juvenile] rat, frozen, thawed, and warmed) and once more he gulped it down like a champion.

This time, at the request of several friends who had asked, I was ready with my video camera (my iPhone, propped between two wrapped bars of soap for stability) and caught the whole thing from start to finish.

A bit of editing in Windows Live MovieMaker and voila! Here are the two sequences, for those of you who are interested.

(Warning: for those of you who are squeamish, this is a real-time video of a python eating a rat. Do not click on the links if you do not wish to see this, obvieusement, mes enfants. And if you do, and are grossed out, I don’t wanna hear about it.)

So, for the rest of you, here you are!

Part One: offering, strike, constriction, swallowing

Part Two: the last of the swallow… nom nom nom… and a bit of showing off for the camera πŸ™‚

It’s unlikely that I’ll be video-ing Boyd’s feedings from now on — it really is pretty much the same every time, and unless he does something absolutely amazing, like appearing from his log with a napkin tied around his neck and wielding a knife and fork, his future meals will go undocumented by his (admittedly still doting) mum, who does not wish to become tedious. πŸ˜‰

Thanks for watching, and I shall of course post updates and unusual events as they occur!

Peekaboo!

4 Comments

  1. jen

    Hi, Just randomly came across your blog looking for info about ball pythons! I have an 8 month old corn snake at the moment. One piece of advice I have been given is to be very careful feeding on a loose substrate. Chips can get stuck to the food and then get lodged in the snake’s digestive system, which can be fatal. Just a friendly warning, don’t want your new friend to get ill! I use a feeding dish and make sure my snake only eats on that, or if your snake always goes back to the hide (i.e. back onto the substrate) then it is a good idea to feed in a separate box or tank with no substrate, to prevent any of it being eaten. Hope you don’t mind me interfering! Lovely little guy you’ve got there any way πŸ™‚

    • Hey – thanks for your comment! I’m always happy to have advice, and as Boyd gets bigger I may have to use a feeding dish/surface for him. He occasionally “fiddles” with his food and gets chips on it, and I really don’t want him to have problems, as you said.
      I talked at length to the snake expert at my local exotic pet store and he said that Boyd’s ingesting a bit of substrate here & there shouldn’t be a problem (so far so good… touch wood)… but I will keep an eye on it and maybe move to a feeding dish later on.
      What does your corn snake eat? And what do you call him/her?
      Thanks again for reading! πŸ™‚
      –Dr Smiter

      • jen

        Hi, sounds good, I just use a small feeding dish which works fine. My corn is only a baby so he is on fuzzy mice, he is called Basil (not sure of the sex, just pretending it is a he!) πŸ™‚

      • Aww! Basil. πŸ™‚ That’s a great name. Will you get him/her sexed eventually? If there’s an exotic pet shop near you, they should be able to do it for a small fee.

Leave a Reply

